Cokethorpe School

« Previous Story Next Story »

Sports Awards Dinner

Sports Awards Dinner photo
Caption:Harminder Bhella with Guest Speaker Mr Peter Rhoades-Brown

28 May 2010

The first whole School annual Sports Awards Dinner took place on the evening of Friday 28 May in the new School Dining Hall. In the company of guest speaker Mr Peter Rhoades-Brown, Oxford United’s Community Football Coach, nearly 100 students and staff enjoyed a fine meal followed by the presentation of nineteen awards to this year's outstanding sports performers.

In all over sixty pupils have represented the School this year at county level or beyond and this goes hand-in-hand with our national successes in clays, kayaking, our regional hockey success and county rugby triumphs at U18 and U15 levels:


The individual awards were as follows:

Most Improved - Louis Allen
Kayaker of the Year - George Barnicoat

Most Improved - Ethan Bosse
Top Gun - George Kerr

Cricketer of the Year - Philip Allen
Most Improved - Billy Webb

Most Improved - Alex Cade
Players' Player - Jack Morton
Coach's Player - Billy Webb

Coach's Player - Alyce McNaughton
Players' Player - Suzy Russell
Most Improved - Sunny Ricketts

Most Improved - Carys Protheroe
Players' Player - Shona Stanley
Coach's Player - Chloë Pickford

Significant Contribution - Edward Church
Players' Player - Andy Berry
Coach's Player - Mark Jones

Finally a new award chosen by the Director of Sport was presented; the only stipulation being that it must go to a student in the Upper Sixth who has made a unique contribution to Cokethorpe sport in their own way. This year the criteria was not only that it should go to an individual who has achieved, but also someone who has tried hard, been a character and enjoyed their time in sport. This year the award was presented to Harminder Bhella.

This site uses cookies to help make it more useful and reliable. Our cookies page explains what they are, which ones we use, and how you can manage or remove them.