Staff and Governors

Senior Management Team

Mr Damian Ettinger BA, MA, PGCE, FRSA
Mr Damian Ettinger BA, MA, PGCE, FRSA

Position - Headmaster

Mr Ettinger became Headmaster at Cokethorpe in 2002. Read more

Mr Jonathan Stevens BEng, FRSA
Mr Jonathan Stevens BEng, FRSA

Position - Deputy Headmaster

Mr Stevens became Deputy Headmaster at Cokethorpe in 2013. Read more

Mrs Harriet Stapleton FCCA
Mrs Harriet Stapleton FCCA

Position - Bursar

Mrs Stapleton became Bursar at Cokethorpe in 2018. Read more

Mr Andrew Uglow BA, PGCE, PGDip, FCCT
Mr Andrew Uglow BA, PGCE, PGDip, FCCT

Position - Director of Studies

Mr Uglow became Director of Studies at Cokethorpe in 2016. Read more

Mr Gareth Sheer BA, PGCE
Mr Gareth Sheer BA, PGCE

Position - Director of Co-Curricular

Mr Sheer became Director of Co-Curricular at Cokethorpe in 2016. Read more

Mrs Nicky Black BA
Mrs Nicky Black BA

Position - Head of Prep School

Mrs Black became Head of Prep School at Cokethorpe in 2018. Read more

Mr Edward Tolputt BA, MA, MEng
Mr Edward Tolputt BA, MA, MEng

Position - Head of Sixth Form

Mr Tolputt became Head of Sixth Form at Cokethorpe in 2020. Read more

Ms Nicky Wynne BA, MA
Ms Nicky Wynne BA, MA

Position - Director of Development

Ms Wynne joined Cokethorpe as Director of Development in 2023. Read more


Senior School

Art and Textiles

Ms E Williams BA, PGCE

Mrs J Pollard MA, PGCE

Mrs H Hammond BA, PGCE

Ms A Peach-Toon BA, PGCE

Business Studies and Economics

Mrs N Silversides BEd, CELTA

Mr M Jones BSc, PGCE

Mr G Biggs BSc, PGCE

Mrs J Coppock BA, Cert Ed, ILM, GNVQ

Mr A Rennie BSc, MSc


Mrs J Speight BA, PGCE, QTS

Mr A Waldron BA

Mr S Oliver BA

Design Technology

Mrs H Brown BA, PGCE

Mr T White BA, QTS

Miss C Clarke BEng, PGCE


Mrs C Hooper Dip Act DCL

Mrs G Ringham BA, MA, PGCE

Mr T Walwyn BA, PGCE

Mrs T Whitcombe BA, PGCE


Mrs E Oram BA, MA, PGCE

Miss D Jackson BEd, MA, DipEFL, FRSA

Mr I Elkin-Jones BA, MBA, PGCE, DipELS, FRSA

Ms L Mountain MA, PGCE

Dr S Harrison BA, MA, PhD, QTS

Miss S Parris BA

Mrs A Martin BA, MA, PGCE


Mr J Capel MA, PGCE

Mr M O’Connor BEd

Mrs J Webb BSc, MSc, PGCE

Mr M Joiner BSc, MA, PGCE

Mrs V Statham BSc, PGCE

History and Politics

Mr S Carter MA, PGCE

Mr M O’Connor BEd

Mr G Sheer BA, PGCE

Mr A Uglow BA, PGCE, PGDip, FCCT

Mr R Blank BA, MSt, MPhil, PGCE


Miss L Ryan BSc


Mr A Ladell-Stuart MMath, PGCE

Mrs J Rushton BA

Mrs C Scaysbrook BSc, PGCE

Mr A Purdie BSc

Mr E Bosse BSc, PGCE

Miss E Hewson BSc, MA, PGDipEd


Mr J Stevens BEng, FRSA

Miss R Dodson BSc, MSc, PGCE

Dr G Gilles BA, MA, PhD, PGDipEd

Mr G Pisanello BSc

Modern Foreign Languages

Miss M Bertholle BA, PGCE

Mrs E Semenzato DLit, PGCE

Mrs C Fuchs BA, MA

Miss C Garitey BA, MA, PGCE

Miss A Mango BA

Mrs R Moore BA, PGCE

Miss A Sanchez-Reyes BA, PGCE


Mr B Wilson MA, MMus, ARCO

Mr J Hughes BA, BMus

Dr J Winkley BA, PhD, QTS

Physical Education

Mr J Gallagher BSc, MA, PGDipEd

Miss A Woodcock BSc, QTS

Mrs Z Lamb BSc, PGCE

Mr J Robinson BA, QTS

Mr D Baker BSc, QTS

Miss H Hendrick BA

Psychology and Sociology

Mrs K Rogers BSc, PGCE

Mrs L Bowden BSc, QTS (GTP)

Religion, Philosophy and Civics

Mr A Waldron BA

Mr D Ettinger BA, MA, PGCE, FRSA

Mr T Walwyn BA, PGCE


Mr O Richards BA, MA

Dr C Flaherty MSc, PhD, PGCE, MRSC

Mrs M Cooper BA, PGCE

Mrs H Kenworthy BSc, PGCE

Mrs C Mason BSc, PGCE

Mr A Gale BSc, PGCE

Mrs E Smith BSc, PGCE
Head of Biology

Dr A Steventon BSc, BMBS, PGA, QTS

Dr C Oldham BSc, BVM&S, MRCVS, QTS
Head of Chemistry

Mrs C Perkin BSc, PGCE
Head of Physics

Mr E Tolputt BA, MA, MEng

Mrs M Mercer MSc, PGCE

Mr P Waghorn BE, MSc

Learning Development

Mrs S Arbuckle BA, PGCE, NASENCO

Mrs J Pratley BA, MCert, SpLD

Mrs J Neame BSc, CertEd, DipSpLD

Mrs L Walwyn BA, PGCE

Mrs S Orton BA, SpLD (Cert), PGCE

Miss E Griffiths BEd, PCAE

Miss A Gaertner BSc, Level 7 Cert



Mrs L Walwyn BA, PGCE

Prep School

Mrs N Black BA
Head of Prep School

Mrs C Brash BSc, BTEC, PGCE
Reception Class Teacher

Mrs K Peace BA
Year 1 Teacher

Ms J Dowd BSc
Year 1 Teacher (Maternity Cover)

Miss J James BA, PGCE
Year 2 Teacher and Deputy Head of Prep School

Mrs H Knox BA, PGCE
Year 3 Teacher

Mrs L Coe BSc, PGCE
Year 3 Teacher (Maternity Cover)

Mr G Lewis BSc, PGCE
Year 4 Teacher

Mrs K Bassey BEd
Year 5 Teacher

Mrs N Procter BSc, PGCE
Year 5 Teacher

Mrs R Paterson BA, MSc, PGDip, Level 7 Cert, PGCE
Learning Support

Mrs R Luckett BA, NPQH, PGCE
Year 6 Teacher

Mr B Gaertner BA, BTEC, QTS
Year 6 Teacher

Mrs H Hammond BA, PGCE
Art Teacher

Mrs S DuFeu BEd
Music and Drama Teacher

Mr D Baker BSc, QTS
Head of Prep Sport


Mr J Bennett BSc

Position - Chairman

Dr C Easmon MBBS, MRCP, MSc Public Health, DTM&H, DOccMed

Position - Governor

The Right Rev C Fletcher

Position - Governor


Position - Governor

Dr W Lau BSc, MSc, PhD

Position - Governor

Mrs J Norris BA, DipTP, MSc, MRTPI

Position - Governor

Mr P Tolley BSc, FRICS

Position - Governor

Mr K Walton Cert Ed

Position - Governor

Mr M Wannell FCCA

Position - Governor

Mr M St John Parker Esq MA

Position - Governor Emeritus

Cokethorpe feather

Where next?

Approaches to Learning

Whether at the earliest stages of learning or in the final preparations for A Levels, expert consideration is given to the approaches to learning at each stage of a pupil’s academic development at Cokethorpe.

The Co-Curricular Programme

Our Co-Curricular Programme covers the performing and creative arts, sport and outdoor education, the Duke of Edinburgh Awards, and our extensive range of clubs and societies.

Discover Cokethorpe

What you will discover when you visit Cokethorpe is more than a stunning vista. Pupils have an exceptional breadth of opportunity and are supported with a truly individual focus.

The Cokethorpe Fund

Your gifts to the Cokethorpe Fund will enable the School to offer means-tested bursaries to brilliant pupils, develop the School estate and its popular co-curricular programme.